Skip to content

Dill Potato Salad

August 10, 2010
by

A few weeks ago I dropped off dinner for a new mom in our church’s Moms & Tots group. I made barbecue sauce from scratch, cooked chicken and shredded it by hand for shredded bbq chicken sandwiches…I made my mom’s “Nonstop Brownies”and headed to Sam’s Club to buy some rolls for the sandwiches.  While I was there I decided that I needed a little something else, so I bought some potato salad I had sampled, brought it home, doctored it up a bit and took it over. This week I got an email asking for the recipe. I almost died laughing! This is my go-to potato salad recipe, it’s a little lighter than traditional potato salads but will fit right in at your next potluck. I think it would beat Sam’s Club in a “Throwdown. 🙂

Dill Potato Salad

Inspired by Food Network’s Dave Lieberman

3 pounds Yukon gold potatoes, washed and scrubbed

2 stalks celery, finely chopped (do not use leaves or white part of stalk)

2 cups mayonnaise (I use Hellman’s Light)

1/2 cup Vidalia or other sweet onion, minced

1/4 cup tightly packed chopped fresh dill

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

1/2 lemon, juiced

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

Salt and Pepper to taste (start with ~3/4 tsp kosher salt. N.B. if using regular salt, start with half the amount)

Directions

  1. Wash and scrub potatoes (or peel them, but that is more work and you lose all the nutrients in the peels). If they are very different sizes, cut larger potatoes in half so that they will cook evenly.
  2. Put potatoes in a large pot and cover with water. Sprinkle 1 tsp salt in the water and boil until potatoes can be pierced with a fork.
  3. Drain the potatoes and return them to the uncovered pot off the heat. Let them sit until almost room temperature.
  4. While the potatoes are cooling, mince the onion, celery and dill. Add mayonnaise, dijon mustard, lemon juice, and vinegar. Combine all ingredient in a  bowl large enough to hold the potatoes and still have room to mix everything together.
  5. Once potatoes have cooled, cut them into bite-sized pieces, adding them to the bowl as you go. Stir gently until all the potatoes are coated with dressing.
  6. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

The original recipe calls for serving at room temperature within a few hours of making the salad. I usually like to chill potato salad because I only make this for picnics or potlucks for other people and they think I am trying to give them food poisoning if I serve it at room temp. 🙂  The  potatoes are at their best before being chilled, the texture is smoother and less grainy. If you do serve this chilled, be sure to taste for salt level after it has chilled as cooling foods mutes seasonings.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana Garza permalink
    August 10, 2010 1:47 pm

    Very funny!, This salad is very good! So nice to have in the summer, making it first thing in the morning before it gets too hot. Thanks for the rec1pie.

  2. Jen permalink
    August 11, 2010 11:01 am

    It was SO good! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

