Skip to content

Embarassingly Easy Berry Cobbler

June 6, 2010
by

E and I were invited to a Memorial Day Pot Luck BBQ, and as usual, I called my mom for ideas…

Mom: Amy made this delicious cobbler for Bible study, and it is stupid easy, you should bring that.

Me: What’s the recipe?

Mom: Frozen berries, a can of apple pie filling, sprinkle some cinnamon, and crumble some pre-made sugar cookie dough on top and bake.”

Most of my mom’s recipes are equally as detailed and while normally I just kind of figure it out as I go along, this time I needed a recipe since this was for a potluck, so I googled “cookie dough berry cobbler” and found Sandra Lee’s Berry Cookie Cobbler and used that to figure out the general amounts. Usually my mom (and I) make everything from scratch, so I was shocked at 1) how easy the recipe was 2) how amazingly delicious it was and 3) SANDRA LEE MADE THIS?!?!?!? Ok Sandra, from now on I promise I will actually look at your recipes the next time I search for something on Food Network, instead of mocking your “tablescapes”, cocktails, and kitchen that changes with every episode. Well, I will still think its ridiculous that she has a different colored KitchenAid mixer, food processor, toaster, blender, drapes, blah blah blah for each new episode, but I have to give credit where credit is due. This cobbler is delicious and embarrassingly easy. Mom said to leave out the sugar and first  taste the berries and since  the supermarket was out of plain sugar cookie dough,  I used Snickerdoodle cookie dough, which is basically a sugar cookie rolled in cinnamon sugar. You can make this cobbler in individual ramekins (super cute and better crust), but that wasn’t an option for a potluck, so I used a Pyrex baking dish. The middle of the cobbler has a tendency to not cook as fast, so make sure the topping in the middle is cooked through.

Ingredients

  • 2 bags (12 ounces each) frozen mixed berries, thawed
  • 1 container (21-ounce) apple pie filling
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 roll (18-ounce) prepared sugar cookie dough
  • Vanilla ice cream

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix berries, apple filling, sugar, and cinnamon. Transfer fruit mixture to an 8 by 8 by 2-inch baking dish. Crumble cookie dough over fruit, covering thickly and completely. Bake uncovered until cookie crust is golden and crisp, and juices bubble thickly, about 45 minutes. Serve warm with ice cream.

Cobbler filling before it's topped & baked.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Teresa permalink
    June 9, 2010 3:53 pm

    oh my lord that looks AMAZING!

  2. Sharon permalink
    July 6, 2010 12:28 pm

    Ana, it is so tasty and easy. My family and my bridge group loved it.

    Your mom forwarded the link to your blog for me…I am enjoying it!

  3. Sara permalink
    August 9, 2010 9:09 pm

    que risa!!!! yo siempre tuve prejuicio con las recetas de Sandra Lee, hasta mal me caía esa guera, por artificial, y sus recetas de “en un abrir y cerrar de latas” nunca me parecieron dignas de mi cocina. pero le daré el crédito, igual que tú, porque ese cobbler, está buenísimo y facilísimo !!

Leave a Reply

